Saturday , October 19 2019
Home / australia / Cummins claims 2019 Allan Border Medal

Cummins claims 2019 Allan Border Medal

Allan Border Medal: Pat Cummins

The idea that Pat Cummins became the most valuable performer of the Australian men's team, received new praise tonight when the fast bowler was declared the winner of the medallion border for Allan.

More than seven years after Cummins presented himself as one of the most exciting findings in Australian cricket, just to succumb to a series of long-term injuries, Cummins entered his name in the Men's Celebration at the Australian Melbourne Cricket Awards.

In this process, the 25-year-old justified the excitement that followed his ascent to the ranking test as a raw teenager in Johannesburg in 2011, where he earned the honor of a player in a match in his debut match.

And he effectively quashed the whispering fears that his huge talent will never be fully realized as a result of a series of stress fractures on his back and other fast-paced diseases, which meant he did not play another test until 2017.

Tonight, Cummins stood in front of the crowd of his peers and former giants in Melbourne at Crovn Entertainment Complex to receive Australia's most prestigious Australian cricket award from a former captain of the test whose name he adorns.

In addition, he joined the prestigious club of former medal winners including Steve Vaugh, Glenn McGrath, Matthews Haiden, Adam Gilchrist, Richard Ponting, Michael Clark, Shane Vatson, Steve Smith and David Varner.

Cummins is the first bowler to have earned this honor since Mitchell Johnson was crowned in 2014, after his stunning Ashes summer home.

With 25 years and 279 days, he is the youngest frontier since Smith won the first of two awards by 2015 when he was 25 years old and 239 days old.

Cummins is the main man for Aussies

However, prospects for leading an attack in Australia in the upcoming northern summer – starting with the World Cup Campaign in the UK since the end of May, followed by the Ashes series – seem to be perhaps Cummins's most challenging challenge.

The right dancer was part of the Australian Cup on home ground in 2015, and later on the same year was added to the Ashes team when Rian Harris succumbed to knee damage.

But he did not play the test during this unsuccessful series, and it was almost two years before he finally returned to the Test Arena against India at Ranchi.

Cummins gets Kohli, but no triple backflip?

As a result, Cummins is no secret that he was excited to be part of Australia's offer to keep watch over by winning the first Ashes series on British soil since 2001.

"I'm absolutely puffed up," Cummins said recently about the prospect of his inaugural Ashes, as he was part of the Australian dominant domestic victory over England last summer.

"It's obvious that the ashes last summer were excellent, four zeroes and we did not win the series there in the races, and I did not play in one (in the UK)."

"So, I can not wait with the Ducks ball, so I'm turning around. I feel like I really control the rocking, and I feel like it's a quick bowling.

"It can not be better for me than that."

Cummins finished the medal with a combined total number of tests, ODIs and T20I formats as judged by teammates, as well as media and referee votes – from 156 votes to end in front of the men's Test Player of the Year, Nathan Lyon (150 votes).

Cummins is a few inches from the hat-trick

The ODI and T20 skiers Aaron Finch won the third place in a medal run at the 146-mark, with one-day-old Marcus Stoinis and Usman Khawaja tied in fourth with 102 votes.

The winners of other awards were Glenn Makvell (T20 International Player of the Year), Matthews Wade (domestic player of the year) and Vill Pucovski (Bradman Ioung Cricketer of the Iear).

The award for tonight's female prize – Belinda Clarke – was won by Alissa Heali, who also received one day the international player of the year and the international T20 players of the year to stop the extremely dominant year.

The female host of the player of the year was Heather Graham of Western Australia, while 19-year-old George Vareham crowned as Young Player of the Cricket of Betty Wilson.

Also tonight, former Australian officials Billi Murdoch, Dean Jones and Cathrin Fitzpatrick were admitted to the National Home of Glorious Crickets.

Smith, who was last year's winner, received 12 votes in the games before his 12-month ban that followed the Cape Town Test last March, and ended at the 25th vote.

Varner finished with 14 votes, while Cameron Bancroft, who returned to the KFC Big Bash League shortly before the new year, was 22 in the polls (with Marnus Labuschagne), finishing the year's 18th vote.

All three players who were banned from the Shumberg incident were invited to the event tonight, but decided not to attend.

2019 Allan Border Medal vote
Pat Cummins – 156 votes
Nathan Lyon – 150
Aaron Finch – 146
Marcus Stoinis, Usman Khavaja – 102
Andrev Tie – 85

Ashes 2019

Source link