Sunday , January 29 2023

Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay will be heads of the Copa America group


Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay will be divided into three groups in which Copa America competitors will be split since 2019, as defined by the disclosure on Thursday of the latest election selection made by FIFA.

Brazil, the third in the table, but already selected as a seed for hosting, will join Uruguay and Argentina, who were seventh and eleventh in the classification of FIFA Selections.

The other nine teams that will compete in Copa America Brazil 2019 will be distributed, also due to their position in the FIFA classification, in three three-way group groupings to be held on January 24 in Rio de Janeiro.

In the second run, the draw will be the ballot for the election of Colombia (twelve), Chile (thirteen) and Peru (twenty).

The third route consists of Venezuela (31), Paraguay (32) and Japan (50), one of Kopa America's guests, and the fourth will be from Ecuador (57), Bolivia (59) and other countries. guest, Qatar (93).

The Confederation of South America (CONMEBOL) decided last November in Buenos Aires that the pots will be compiled in accordance with the locations of the competitors in the last ranking of the FIFA selection.

Such group preparation criteria will be held indefinitely in the next Copa America releases.

This standard guarantees that the first stage of the tournament is not considered the most important South American selection and that it only works in possible quarters, semifinals or eventual completion of the tournament.

Copa America will play between June 14 and July 7 at six Brazilian stadiums: Maracana in Rio de Janeiro, Mineirao in Belo Horizonte, Arena do Gremio in Porto Alegre and Arena Fonte Nova in Salvador. The other two are Morumbi and Arena Corinthians, in Sao Paulo.

Opening of the match will be played in Morumbi, and will be attended by Brazil. The finals will be played in Maracana and the semi-finals on 2 and 3 July in Belo Horizonte and Porto Alegre.

Of the selected six stadiums, only in Morumbi there were no matches at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

The schedule of the competition is planned so that Brazil, if it comes to finals, will go through all other stages of the competition before finishing its campaign in Maracana.

In its fortieth edition, Copa America, which returns to Brazil after 30 years of absence, will challenge ten members of Conmebol (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela) and for Japan and Qatar invited countries.

– Composition of pots for group pulling:

Pot 1: Brazil (3), Uruguay (7) and Argentina (11).

Pot 2: Colombia (12), Chile (13) and Peru (20).

Pot 3: Venezuela (31), Paraguay (32) and Japan (50).

Pot 4: Ecuador (57), Bolivia (59) and Qatar (93).

Source link