Wednesday , March 22 2023

Johnny Sexton was nominated for the year's world volleyball player


Johnny Sexton became the first 17-year-old Irish to become the crown of the World Cup of the Year after being on the list of the only Northern Hemisphere.

Sexton is next to the star of the six nations with Ireland, along with Beauden Barrett (New Zealand), Faf de Klerk (South Africa), Rieko Ioane (New Zealand) and Malcolm Marx (South Africa).

The list is made up of Rugby World Cup winner Richie McCaw, John Smit, George Gregan, Maggie Alphonsi and former English coach Clive Woodward, who was also found by Ireland Brian O Driscoll, Fabien Galthie and Agustín Pichot.

Fans and the media had a chance to vote for those who consider the prize to be the most prized and now international captains and coaches join the panel for a final vote to determine the winner.

Sexton is the oldest candidate at age 33. The Leinster kicker helped Ireland to second place in the world rankings and won first in Australia for 39 years.

However, perhaps the Sequoise moment for Sexton was at the last minute that Ireland won a dramatic win at the opening Six Nations race in France, launching Grand Slam's glory.

If Sexton won the prize, and in 2001 Keith Wood became the first Irish to fight a tough opponent, including All Black Beauden Barrett, who won the title for a third year in a row.

In 2018, Barrett had seven attempts in eight tests, six of them in the Bledisloe Cup series against Australia, including a record four with Eden Park's 30 points and likely to stand up against Sexton this month when Ireland meets New Zealand in Dublin.

De Klerk and Marx are the two Springbok candidates after helping Rassie Erasmus to retreat to the world rugby, while All Black Ioane is the youngest candidate at 21.

The prize will be awarded at the World Rugby Awards in Salle des Etoiles at Monte Carlo on November 25, with the women prizes: Pauline Bourdon (France), Fayo Faamausili (New Zealand), Gaëlle Hermet (France), Safi Diaye (France) and Jessy Trémoulière (France).

Previous World Rugby Men's 15s Year Player Award Winning:

2017 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)

2016 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)

2015 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)

2014 – Brodie Retallick (New Zealand)

2013 – Kieran Read (New Zealand)

2012 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)

2011 – Thierry Dusautoir (France)

2010 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)

2009 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)

2008 – Shane Williams (Wales)

2007 – Bryan Habana (South Africa)

2006 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)

2005 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)

2004 – Schalk Burger (South Africa)

2003 – Jonny Wilkinson (England)

2002 – Fabien Galthie (France)

2001 – Keith Wood (Ireland)

Previous World Rugby Women 15 Years Player Wins Season:

2017 – Portia Woodman (New Zealand)

2016 – Sarah Hunter (England)

2015 – Kendra Cocksedge (New Zealand)

2014 – Magali Harvey (Canada)

2012 – Michaela Staniford (England)

2011 – Ruth Mitchell

2010 – Carla Hohepa (New Zealand)

2009 – Debby Hodgkinson (Australia)

2008 – Carol Isherwood (England)

2007 – Sarah Corrigan (Australia)

2006 – Maggie Alphonsi (England)

2005 – Farah Palmer (New Zealand)

2004 – Donna Kennedy (Scotland)

2003 – Kathy Flores (USA)

2002 – Monique Hirovanaa (New Zealand)

2001 – Shelley Rae (England)

Source link